Senior Div 4

April 28th 2019 Mayo Senior League Division 4

 Ballintubber 2-8 Davitts 0-6

Our junior team continued their good form of late with a home win over Davitts in Ballintubber today. Despite us playing within ourselves somewhat with a number of unforced errors, we took our scores when it counted and displayed superior fitness level throughout. Played out in cool and calm conditions, goals in either half from Alan McHale and Hugh Geraghty ensured that we were never given cause to panic at any stage.

With a midfield aged over 70 and a half forward line of about 60 years combined, our mix of youth and experience blended well yet again. Indeed, it was three men still playing Minor and U21 football who kicked all of our first half tally of 1-4. While Davitts could only manage one point before 25th minute Matthew Fox and Noel Geraghty had 0-3 between them on the board by the 11th minute. We then landed a crucial score when Noel Geraghty found Alan McHale with a superb ball before the teenager turned and stuck the ball in the net.

Despite us hitting something of a lull at this point with some sloppy passing play, Davitts couldn’t really get going. Minor footballer Jack Walsh and veteran full-back Kevin Shannon minded the house well, ensuring that the visitors only landed two more points before the break. In the meantime, Noel Geraghty landed another free before Alan McHale set up a goal chance for elder statesman Stephen Broderick who dragged his shot wide.

We started the second half in ideal fashion as Broderick set up Hugh Geraghty from a free for the Cartoonbower man to finish our second goal from close range. The game could’ve been thrown back into the melting pot minutes later but for a crucial save from Ballintubber goalie Tom McGing. With Davitts not seriously threatening our lead besides, we added three scores in a row through full-forward Dean Loftus and the newly-introduced David McHale, while Noel Geraghty added the pick of the scores with a very well-taken point. Matthew Fox pointed a free for what would be our final score before the final whistle.

Ballintubber team that lined out: (1)Tom McGing (2)Jack Walsh (3)Kevin Shannon (4)Aaron Lally (5)Jarlath Staunton (6)Paul Earley (7)John Kerrigan (8)Tom Earley (9)Stephen Broderick (10)Noel Geraghty (0-3, 1f) (11)Hugh Geraghty (1-0) (12)Gavin Roache (19)Matthew Fox (0-3, 2f) (14)Dean Loftus (0-1) (13)Alan McHale (1-0)

Substitutions used: David McHale (0-1) for Tom Earley, Stephen Finnerty for Hugh Geraghty, James McGing for Noel Geraghty, Alan Larkin for Dean Loftus

Share this post...
Previous post Next Post